



RDCA Veterans Annual Report 2009/2010

Wonga Park won the Division 1 premiership for the 3rd consecutive season, Templeton's promotion to Division 2 proved successful and Kilsyth returned to the veteran's competition finishing the season undefeated in Division 3. Warranwood Legends managed to go one better than last season and also finished undefeated.

Wonga Park veterans have now won five premierships in the last six seasons while Kilsyth won their second consecutive premiership, although there was a nine season break!

The Masters and Legends divisions were fixtured to play 7 games + 2 finals. There was a wash out in round 3 (22 November 2009) for which all teams were given the option to play the following week or on 10th of January, if not able to be played a draw was the result. For round 6 (31 January 2010) the veteran's heat policy was invoked and no games were able to be played.

Grand Final results were:

Masters 1 – Bill Dean Trophy

Wonga Park (8/197) defeated Croydon (9/134) played at Croydon Oval (turf).

Masters 2 – Ken Johnson Trophy

Templeton (6/194) defeated East Ringwood (7/191) played at Templeton Reserve.

Masters 3

Kilsyth (6/160) defeated Montrose (10/99) played at Alan Smith Oval.

Legends

Warranwood (4/176) defeated North Ringwood (9/153) played at Quambee Reserve

On 13 December 2009 we hosted the interassociation matches against Box Hill Reporter at Croydon and Fred Geale ovals (masters and legends) and the inaugural over 60's game at Cheong Park South Croydon.

Masters – Dale Goldsmith © RDCA (10/116) lost to BHDCA (7/118)

Team was: Paul Clark, David Werner, Darren Croft, Geoff Chamberlain, Brad Guan, Neale Wood (vc), John Schleuter, Kevin Smith, Jeff Murphy, Barry Williams, Wes Britton

Legends – Peter Rogers © RDCA (9/106) defeated BHDCA (9/105)

Team was: Gary Cook, Kevin Lewis, Steve Teakel (vc), Rob Ruffle, Cornel Van Dort, Thomas Schumann, Barry Westgarth, Ivan Lyons, Phil Hickleton, Robert Olazabal, Neil Young, Nick Hamer

Over 60's – Alan Duffus © RDCA (4/120) defeated BHDCA (6/105)

Team was: Michael Gavin, Chris Hartrup, Kevin Dunn, Steve Pascoe, Daryl Stephens, Ian Sharp, Ian Leach, Rob Groat, Terry Dunn, Paul Robinson, Robert Webb, Robert Burgess, Ian Wood

Veterans Motto

"Strive to do your best, never give up and treat people with respect"





On 24 January 2010 Ferntree Gully hosted the masters and legends matches at the Bayswater ovals.

Masters – Dale Goldsmith ©

Team was: Adam Luckman, David Werner, Don Rixon, Mark Unternahrer, Tonly Plose, Neale Wood (vc), Michael Bellizia, David Tilker, Jeff Murphy, Kevin Smith, Wes Britton RDCA (7/149) defeated FTGCA (10/121)

Legends – Steve Teakel ©

Team was: Carl Schoonraad, Peter Rogers (vc), Rob Ruffle, Cornel Vandort, Thomas Schumann, Barry Dawson, Gary Cook, Phil Hickleton, Robert Olazabal, Barry Westgarth, Nick Hamer, Gregor Mason RDCA (7/189) defeated FTGCA (10/154)

Thanks to all the players, umpires, managers and off field supporters who contributed to the success of these matches.

The veteran's newsletter continued in its colorful format and was well received plus the accessibility on the RDCA website allowed for a greater readership.

Thanks to Chris Allan and Bill Stafford for coordinating and editing this document plus all the club coordinators and players who contributed after each game, your efforts were greatly appreciated.

Our annual presentation night dinner was held at the Ringwood Bowling Club on Friday 5 March and hosted by Rob Milne and Warrick Dickson from Wonga Park CC.

Thanks again to Marg Stafford for all her efforts in organizing this event and to the 100+ players and guests who attended.

There were 30 clubs participating in the RDCA competition from which 19 contributed 33 Veteran teams and it is the hope of the committee that this will continue to increase.

The committee met 6 times during the season and comprised:

Ken Johnson (Patron) ex officio

Daryl Stephens (cro) (Chairman), Bill Stafford (crr) (Treasurer), Gregor Mason (wwd) (Secretary), Marg Stafford (crr), Ian Leach (cro), Garry Walles (apk), Nat Young (nri), Chris Hartrup (swh), Chris Allan (apk) and Rob Milne (wpk).

On behalf of all Veterans our thanks to the RDCA Senior Executive for their continued support through the provision of pennants, representative player shirts, balls for finals and caps plus financial support in the hosting of the inter-association games.

Gregor Mason RDCA Veterans Secretary

April 2010