

VETERANS COMPETITION REPORT

During the wettest cricket season we have had for many years, the Veterans competition managed to avoid most of the unplayable days.

Highlights were:

Division 1 - Wonga Park beat Croydon to win the premiership for the 4th consecutive season;

Division 2 - Warranwood showed that their relegation was temporary when they defeated Kilsyth:

Division 3 - Montrose won their first Veterans premiership by defeating Norwood.

Legends - North Ringwood, in their third consecutive grand final, won the premiership by defeating Croydon Ranges.

This season, there was a change to the fixture schedule in that five rounds were played prior to Christmas and only two after the break, with a week off between the last round and the semi and then the grand finals.

Grand Final results were:

Masters 1 - Bill Dean Trophy

Wonga Park (8/131) defeated Croydon (10/61) played at Wonga Park.

Masters 2 – Ken Johnston Trophy

Warranwood (5/161) defeated Kilsyth (8/159) played at Alan Smith Oval.

Masters 3

Montrose (7/159) defeated Norwood (10/67) played at Montrose Reserve.

Legends

North Ringwood (5/166) defeated Croydon Ranges (9/152) played at North Ringwood Reserve

On 12 December 2010, our Inter-association games against Box Hill Reporter were played at Kew CC (Victoria Park) grounds and at Macleay Park, North Balwyn.

Masters – Paul Foley © RDCA (10/130) lost to BHDCA (10/162)

Team was: David Werner, Wilson Urrutia, Tony Plose, Steve Oluc, Paul Campbell, Dale Hudson, Brian I'Anson, Tim Rule, Mick Bellizia, Jim Dodge, Luke Henderson

Legends – Steve Teakel © RDCA (8/178) defeated BHDCA (10/170)

Team was: Kevin Lewis, Peter Rogers, Geoff Chamberlain, Cornel Van Dort, Thomas Schumann, Gregor Mason, Phil Hickleton, Wayne Hartley, Phil Dewar, Bill Artis, Lachlan McMahon

Over 60's – Mick Gavin © RDCA (4/120) defeated BHDCA (6/105)

Team was: Ian Spencer, Steve Pascoe, Chris Hartrup, Bill Stafford, Barry Johnson, Paul Robinson, Alan Mc.Leish, John Chapman, Graeme Seymour, Terry Dunn, Gary Paget and Robin Court. Emergency: John Rees.

On 26 January 2011, with help from Boronia CC, RDCA hosted Ferntree Gully DCA masters and legends matches at Tormore Reserve and Chandler Park respectively.

Masters - Paul Foley © RDCA (6/135) defeated FTGCA (7/133)

Team was: Dale Hudson, Wilson Urrutia, Tony Plose, Paul Campbell, Steve Oluc, Brian I'Anson, Tim Rule, Michael Bellizia, Rod Knee, Luke Henderson

Legends – Steve Teakel © RDCA (3/98) defeated FTGCA (10/93)

Team was: Kevin Lewis, Peter Rogers, Dale Goldsmith, Geoff Chamberlain, Cornel Vandort, Thomas Schumann, Phil Hickleton, Gregor Mason, Phil Dewar, Bill Artis and Warren (Jack) Knee

Thanks to all the players, umpires, managers and off field supporters who contributed to the success of these matches.

Our thanks to Chris Allan and Bill Stafford, for co-ordinating and editing the newsletter and to all the club co-ordinators and players who contributed after each game. Your efforts were greatly appreciated.

Our annual presentation night dinner was held in the new Montrose Cricket Club rooms on Friday 4 March and masters of ceremonies were Chris Allan and Brendan Kane from Ainslie Park CC. The Trivia questions tested the players memories of events during the season across the divisions and winners were rewarded for their knowledge. The Montrose club rooms are the envy of many clubs.

Thanks again to Marg Stafford for all her efforts in organizing this event and to the many players, partners and guests who attended.

In September 2010 we sadly said farewell to our founder and cricket enthusiast Ken 'The Colonel' Johnston who passed away. His legacy to the Ringwood District Cricket Association will always be remembered and his dedication to our game will be sadly missed.

In Ken's honor, the 'The Colonel's Cup' has been created, for representative competition between RDCA and Box Hill Reporter association with the trophy going to the association that wins the most matches (from Masters, Legends and Over 60's) on game day. It was fitting that the RDCA was the inaugural winner of this cup by defeating BHDCA in the Legends and Over 60's.

This season, there were 30 clubs who participated in the RDCA competition, 19 of which contributed to 32 Veteran teams and it is the hope of the committee that this will continue to increase.

The committee, which met 4 times during the season, comprised: Daryl Stephens (CRO) (Chairman), Bill Stafford (CRR) (Treasurer), Gregor Mason (WWD) (Secretary), Marg Stafford (CRR), Ian Leach (CRO), Nat Young (NRI), Chris Hartrup (SWT), Chris Allan (APK) and Rob Milne (WOP).

On behalf of all Veterans, our thanks to the RDCA Senior Executive for their continued support through the provision of pennants, representative player shirts, balls for finals and caps plus financial support in the hosting of the inter-association games.

Gregor Mason	RDCA Veterans Motto:	
Secretary	Strive to do our best, never give up,	
veterans@rdca.com	and treat people with respect	