
Page 1 of 2 

 

RDCAUA – Test yourself 4 

Out - Caught 

1. Fill the gaps in the text of the Law by typing the correct word in the appropriate spot. 

 

The _____________is out Caught if a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a ____________, 

touches his _______ without having previously been in ___________ with any fielder and is 

subsequently held by a fielder as a _________ catch before it touches the ____________. 

2. True or False.  (Mark the appropriate box with an “X”) 

 

Scenario True False 

The hand holding the bat, or a glove on a hand holding the bat is 

considered to be part of the bat. 

  

Caught takes precedence over all other forms of dismissal, except for 

_______________, even if another form of dismissal is justifiable. 

  

When a batsman is out “Caught”, runs already completed do not count.   

If the non-striker obstructs a fieldsman and prevents a catch from being 

taken, then the non-striker is out for “Obstructing The Field”. 

  

 

3. Mark the appropriate box with an “X” whether or not the striker is out “Caught”.  

  

Scenario Out Not out 

The striker plays the ball onto his pad.  It balloons up and is taken fairly 

by a fielder. 

  

The striker plays the ball into the ground.  It bounces up and looks to be 

heading for the wicket.  The striker uses his bat to hit the ball away.  

The ball is caught by a fielder 

  

A ball has lodged in the keeper’s pad.   
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Scenario Out Not out 

In catching the ball, the fielder stands on a boundary rope or leans 

against the fence. 

  

A goal post is within the field of play.  It has been agreed at the toss that 

if this post is hit by the ball, it is play on.  A ball hits the goal post on the 

full and is subsequently caught by a fieldsman inside the field of play. 

  

A player attempting a catch is aware that he is near the boundary. From 

inside the field of play, he launches himself into the air, and, whilst 

airborne, makes contact with the ball and palms it into the field of play.  

A team mate well inside the field of play, catches the ball. 

  

A player attempting a catch is aware that he is near the boundary.  

From inside the field of play, he launches himself into the air, and, 

whilst airborne, makes contact with the ball and palms it into the field 

of play.  He lands outside the field of play, recovers his balance, returns 

to the field of play and catches the ball. 

  

A fieldsman catches the ball close the boundary.  In joy and because this 

is the 10th wicket to fall thus winning his team a premiership, he turns, 

ball in hand and runs across the boundary to embrace a club official. 

  

Second slip dives forward to take the ball.  His hand is on the ground 

but the ball clearly does not touch the ground before it is taken by the 

fielder. 

  

Trees surrounding the ground have been declared as part of the 

boundary.  A ball lofted into these trees is caught, inside the field of 

play by a fieldsman. 

  

The ball hits the pad first and then the bat before it is caught.   

The striker in defending his wicket, legally hits the ball twice and it 

doesn’t hit the ground.  The second strike is caught. 

  

In defending himself against a lifting delivery, the striker takes his hand 

from the bat.  The ball makes contact with this hand and is 

subsequently caught by a fielder. 

  

A pull shot, glances off the helmet of a close in fielder and is 

subsequently caught. 

  

The ball hits an umpire and is caught.   

 
5. Fill the gaps in the text of the Law by typing the correct word in the appropriate spot. 

 

The act of making the catch shall _________ from the time when the ball first comes into 

___________ with the _____________ person and shall _______ when the fielder obtains 

___________ control over both the __________ and his/her own ___________________. 


