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Test yourself - 7 THE WICKET IS DOWN

Q1. Complete this statement from the Laws.

The wicket is put if a is completely

from the of the stumps or a is struck out of the

Q2. What’s Your Decision?

Mark with an “X”, “Out” or “Not Out” for each scenario.
If out, say how the batsman is out.

Scenario Out? Not Out

1. The keeper is standing up to a quicker
bowler who bowls a short ball. The | How Out ?
batsman ducks. The keeper takes the
ball over his head and kicks the stumps
removing a bail. He appeals. The
batsman is out of his ground.

2. The batsman plays and misses at a
delivery that shaves the off stump. The | How Out ?
long spigot is removed from the bail
groove but the short spigot remains in
place. There is an appeal, presumably
for “bowled”.

3. In playing the ball the batsman’s back
foot makes contact with the stumps, | How Out ?
removing a bail. There is an appeal.

4. The batsman jams down a fast yorker.
His bat shatters and a piece hits the | How Out ?
stumps, dislodging a bail. There is an
appeal.

5. The ball is returned from the outfield.
The fielder standing over the stumps | How Out ?
catches the ball in his right hand and
simultaneously removes a bail with his
left. The batsman is stranded, well
short of his ground. There is an appeal.

6. It is a windy day. The batsmen are
taking a third run when the wind | How Out ?
removes one of the bails. The ball is
returned to the keeper who removes
the remaining bail with a classic sweep
of the gloves. The batsman is out of his
ground and there is an appeal.
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7. On the same windy day, you and your
colleague have decided to dispense | How Out ?
with the bails. The batsman plays a
delivery on to the ground and the ball
rolls back and makes contact with the
stumps. There is an appeal.

8. The wind continues. The bails remain
removed. A shy at the stumps hits the | How Out ?
stumps and pushes them back but not
out of the ground. The batsman is
clearly out of his ground.

9. The bails have been replaced. In
delivering the ball the bowler has | How Out?
accidentally dislodged both bails whilst
delivering the ball. The batsmen are
running. A shy at the stumps is a direct
hit, pushing two stumps back but not
removing them from the ground. The
batsman is mid pitch. There is an
appeal.

10. The batsman plays a magnificent hook
shot that is clearly going for 6. As he | How Out ?
spins, his hat falls from his head and
dislodges a bail. There is an appeal.

Q.3 In Keystone Cops type scenario, all three stumps are out of the ground, yet a run out
chance still exists. What action can the fielding side take in order to affect a run out?

Q.4 If the wicket has been put down and play continues, is the umpire required to reset the
wickets for the fielding team? (Yes / No)

Q.5 A run out is attempted, the bails are off and 2 of the stumps are out of the ground. The
batter is within their ground and not out. The ball has ricochet away and the batter decides
to run. The fielder picks up the ball facing away from the stumps and throws the ball between
the legs towards the remaining stump which falls flat to the ground. The fielder appeals. What
is your decision?




