Cricket

Yarra Valley Cricket Association's annual meeting, held last Thursday night was attended by a representative gathering of club delegates, over which Mr R McGuire (Powelltown) presided Mr. McGuire was re-elected to the chair unopposed, and will again have with him Mr. R. (Bob) Drummond (Seville) as secretary. Other appointments were: - Vice-presidents, Messrs E. Matthews (Mt. Evelyn), L. Morrison (Woori Yallock), Law (Healesville), E. Lloyd (Gladysdale), and D. Campbell (Wandin); permit committee, Messrs. D. Campbell, E. Matthews, and R. Drummond; selection committee, Messrs. R. Drummond, R. McGuire and E. Matthews. Teams will play in the following sections "A" Grade: Mt. Evelyn. Grade: Mt. Evelyn, Wandin, Seville, Woori Yallock, Yarra Junction, Gladysdale, Healesville, Warburton, Powelltown, and the new team. Healesville R.S.L. "B" Grade: Wandin Seville, Woori Yallock, Hoddle's Creek, Powelltown and Millgrove thew team. A. Grade matches will commence on October 16, and B. Grade (one day round only) on October 9. The association accepted with thanks donations of trophies from Measrs. R. Drummond (batting), E Lloyd (bowling), and Bert King (fielding) for the A. Grade. A trophy for fielding in the B. Grade was given by Mr. Les Morrison, while batting and bowling awards will be presented by the association. match against Mountain District will be arranged on a suitable date, and a team will again represent the combined associations in Country Week.