RDCA Trollope Season Preview

30 September 2017 - Posted by Roger Copeland


The Ringwood and District Cricket Association's 2017/18 season will commence on Saturday 17 October with a one-day fixture, beginning at 1pm.

After many years of debating, the top five grades, Trollope Shield, Wilkins Cup, Newey Plate, Pascoe Shield and the newly formed Meehan Shield, will all have eight sides leading to all teams playing each other twice throughout the season in a one-day and two-day fixture.
All clubs have indicated that they have what it takes to handle the new format. 
Last year's premiers WANTIRNA SOUTH are looking forward to defending their flag. With their entire Trollope Shield team intact from last season, they will again be the team to beat. 
Newly promoted MONTROSE have recruit well in the off season, with Justin Perkins (Kilsyth), Stuart Davis (Norwood) and Will Holmes (Cheadle, ENG) joining the club. Josh Bromiley (overseas) and Adam Byrne (injury) return after a year off. They are also positive in their junior stocks, with Reece Schelflout, Josh McCallum and Hayden Daniel all pushing for selection. Bryce Edwards will not play this season.
SOUTH CROYDON are hoping that their season starts on a positive note after their good finish last year. They have recruited Zac Staggard (Woori Yallock), Scott Cogan (Lilydale) and Aaron McNab (Sheffield, TAS) and hope that their strong junior program unearths some likely prospects. 
WARRANDYTE has lost all-star Jake Sherriff to The Basin. He has been replaced by Andy Wilgose as coach, with Ayrton Dehmel taking over the reigns as captain. Campbell Holland is fit after shoulder surgery and Adam White returns. Brady Poole, Darcy Poole, Ben Jackson and Bailey Bowyer are exciting juniors who will press for a spot in the first eleven.
LILYDALE'S task of a repeat of last year took a hit with all-star Jack Dewhurst not returning. John Moulder has semi-retired and Scott Cogan has gone to South Croydon. Whilst the hole left by these cricketers is significant, the recruitment of Ryan Smith (Woori Yallock) and Quinton Hodgkinson (Yarra Junction) who were both captain/coach of their respective clubs last season, may fill the gap. They also welcome back Ben Spencer (Kilsyth) and Brenton Pierce (Eastfield) who returns as assistant coach. 
NORTH RINGWOOD have appointed Simon Gray as senior coach, while Michael Scott has taken over as captain. Sam Ridgwell returns after a season in South Australia and Matthew Scott will miss most of the season through injury. 
AINSLIE PARK are looking to their 17-20 year-old group, who have had a taste of first eleven cricket, to take the next step this year. Their attack should be suited to the one-day game and they hope that they can go one better this year after falling just short last season.
BAYSWATER PARK'S season fell away after Christmas last year and they are looking forward to a more consistent season. They welcome the return of Drew McKenzie and Josh Temple, who are both established first eleven players. They have also recruited Todd Cordwell (Warranwood), while Josh Barrett has returned to South Warrandyte.      
Tony White
RDCA Media and Scores Co-ordinator

Zagames Boronia

Visit their website

View all our sponsors